Election of Chair, Vice-Chairs and Deputy Chairs

Summary

1. The General Assembly is invited to appoint a Chair, Vice-Chairs and four Deputy Chairs for 2004/2005.

Constitution

- 2. The Constitution (Article 7.4) provides for the General Assembly at its Annual Meeting each year to appoint a Chair and Vice-Chairs and, on the nomination of the relevant political groups, Deputy Chairs each being a representative of the political groups of members of the General Assembly representing the largest electorates as determined under Article 9.3, provided that their share of the total electorate as so determined is in each case five per cent or more.
- 3. In respect of the appointment of Deputy Chairs for 2004/2005, there are four political groups which meet the criteria set out in the Constitution namely the Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrat and Independent Groups who each have more than five per cent of the total electorate. The Assembly has previously agreed that, where the positions of Chair and Vice-Chairs of the LGA are held by the two largest groups, the leader of the third largest group should be recognised as taking precedence over the other Deputy Chairs.
- 4. In the event of any of the above positions being the subject of a vote at the General Assembly, full members may exercise their vote in accordance with Article 6.1 of the Constitution. Each corporate member authority (Association of National Parks Authorities, Fire, Police and Passenger Transport Authorities) shall have one vote (Article 6.2(a)).

Contact Officer: Roy Williams (roy.williams@lga.gov.uk) (020 7664 3230)